Back from the dead

Standard
Outlandish!

I’m going to give myself airs and say “You’ve probably been wondering where I’ve been.” It’s been seventeen days since I last checked in with ROW80, since I stopped writing my NaNo novel, since I basically was last seen on the face of the planet.

I think I’m not quite ready to come out of my cozy cabin but I’m going to force myself anyway.

I’m still spending a lot of time reading about Autism, watching movies on Autism, taking baby to his appointments, researching things about Autism, modifying out diet to be even stricter with gluten/legume/casein free-ness since that can help Autism. You get the picture. But I have settled down a lot since then. I started reading actual fiction and not feeling guilty that I wasn’t spending my available time reading about something that will not do a thing to help my son. I stopped doing quite so much research.

But let me tell you that it’s hard. I want to do as much as I can for him right now and that takes up a lot of time and nearly all my brain power. Because during that time I also have to home school four other kids, get stuff ready for the holidays, cook, clean, etc. etc. I haven’t been writing. Unless you count all copious forms I fill out for various things. Which I don’t.

I’m looking for new flash fiction challenges to spur me back into writing. I haven’t forgotten about Faylinn but need to go back and read what I’ve written and actually make notes on what’s happening since I’ve basically been pantsing my way though it. And I really do like where my story is going for NaNo so I want to get back into that.

Also, if anyone that wins NaNo this month and gets the 50% off Scrivener coupon but doesn’t want it I’d be more than happy to take it off your hands since my trial is up and every one of my novels is on Scrivener. (doh!)

I hope you all had happy holidays and I’ll be checking in with some of you later today!

Any flash fiction links? Anyone not using the Scrivener coupon that wins NaNo? Any ideas for getting back into the writing groove?

14 responses »

  1. It must not be easy, but you shouldn’t feel guilty about reading and writing things you want. I mean, I would probably do as you, read and devour everything about autism I could put my hands on and forget about myself, but, let me remind you that you need to take care of you too. You need to be well and strong and serene to better help your kids.
    Take it easy and good luck!

  2. That is an awesome avocado! Did you make that? But yeah, I was wondering where you ran off to. Don’t feel guilty for trying to be the best mom. It shows that you love him. Since you’re a pantser, why not try a little free writing? It might get you back in the groove to write something else. Best of luck 🙂

    • No I didn’t make it, a fellow Paleo friend did. I need to find more avocado photos 🙂 I think I’m going to look for some December flash fiction. I haven’t written anything holidayish before so maybe there’s something out there that would be neat to try. thanks for stopping by Ryan!

  3. My son has Aspergers, and I know how you feel, the need to learn ‘everything’ possible to be able to help your child is overwhemling. I even did a University Certificate in ASD to be able to understand and support my son better. In the end it was our useless education and health systems that failed him most of all 😦

    I hope you are starting to feel better now you are more aware of how you can help your son.

    Best wishes getting back into the writing groove, I’m sure you will be back on track in no time 🙂 xx

    • The more we learn about the spectrum the more we think that our oldest has a form of Aspergers (repetitive movements, can’t sit still, one sided conversations, very literal/focused, singular focuses, was reading and spelling at age 4 etc.) I’m going to talk the therapist about how to get him tested since we’re not in a school system (home schooled). I don’t *want* to label him but I think knowing if he has these issues will help with learning how to work WITH him instead of always feeling like I’m working against him. My oldest daughter we know has dyslexia or disgraphia, she writes mirrored and backwards and doesn’t see anything wrong with it but struggles with reading and abstract number comprehension.

      I’m at the end of my third semester for Early Childhood Education AS degree and plan to go on for my Bachelor’s. I want to look into becoming certified with ASD or similar so I can work with him at home since therapy is very expensive and difficult to get to. I’ve been working on my certification in ASL also even though he’s a reluctant signer, he still seems to show aptitude in understanding the hand signals and does try a bit.

      • Good luck with the therapist, I know the dilemmas of labels – a blessing and a curse at the same time! and good luck with the studies too! It will be worth it, for all of you 🙂 xx

  4. It sounds like you’ve been doing an amazing amount of work, and how great that you’re wanting to get back into writing again! I know sometimes writing can be just the thing if you’re feeling overwhelmed or just needing a little refresher from something that’s been taking over your life. At least yours is something incredibly important and it sounds like things are going to get better because of your efforts. Your dedication is incredibly admirable, and I wish you the absolute best.

    I know 750 Words has helped a lot of people get back into writing, even though I’ve lately been feeling more like it’s a pain than a help, but that’s because I’m working on so many other projects, too. I don’t know any good flash fiction prompt sites off the top of my head, but I know with NaNo about over, I’ll be watching to see if anyone suggests any here, because I’d love to dabble a little, too.

    I haven’t won NaNo yet, but if I manage to pull it off and do get that coupon (is it just something you get for meeting 50k? Or is there something extra to it?), I don’t think I’d use it, so I’d be happy to pass it along.

  5. Welcome back, C. M. Yes, several of us were wondering where you were; I sorta knew, but didn’t want to push, figuring you’d come back when you are ready. I understand the need to know everything you can find out, but Juliana’s right, you need to take care of yourself as well.

    I understand your reluctance with labelling, but I felt such freedom when I was finally diagnosed with my learning disabilities. People stopped thinking I was weird (well, at least a little bit!).

  6. I’m so glad to see you back, Crystal! Honestly, I thought you were in your writing cave doing NaNo, since a lot of writers disappear in November. But it sounds like you’re doing all you can do to help you child. That’s a good thing. You’ll get back to writing when you’re ready, and it sounds like you’re about there.

    I have a friend who home schools her son. My youngest son (who is an adult) mentioned one time that he thought the child was mildly autistic. I laughed it off. But he has some weird quirks. He gets very focused on things. He memorizes things he’s interested in to a point that’s uncanny. He makes funny faces a lot. He’s eight. But yet, he’s very friendly and interacts well with people, which I’ve always heard autistic children DON’T do. So I wonder…. is he just an odd child, or does he need to be tested for SOMETHING?

  7. Welcome back. I can’t imagine what you must be going through, but like Lauralynn said, you’re doing all you can. And don’t feel bad about taking some time for yourself. You’re no good to your son if you don’t take care of yourself.

  8. Welcome back. Our son has Aspergers and when first found out, read everything could get my hands on. I started seeing bits of it in myself, my husband, and well you get the drift. I understand completely about the label. We never labeled him ourselves and people just thought he was quirky and if issues came up, we’d tell them how to deal with the issue. Amazingly as he’s gotten older, he’s grown out of some of the issues. The only time we used the label was with medical issues – it would explain his reluctance or reactions and they would understand. Things do improve with age and well with lots of patience. We homeschool which works wonderfully well for him. Take some time for yourself, ease back into the writing. You found time before, you’ll find time again.

Leave a Reply

