A new Round of 80

Standard

Hello, fellow ROWers! I’m back for another A Round of Words in 80 Days. I have to say that after the last round I took a bit of a break. You see, on September 19th (my birthday, too) I reinjured my nerves in my neck and shoulders somehow and can’t feel the last 2 fingers on my left hand. It’s like wearing 100 layers of latex gloves. I’ve been going to the chiropractor and my desk will be sporting a new knee chair as soon as I figure out which one to get. My hopes is that sometime in the next few weeks I can regain feeling and function in those two fingers.

As you can imagine, it makes writing ridiculously hard when I can’t feel the keys and loose muscle control on occassion. So this Round of 80 I’m taking it a little easy on the writing and heavy on the personal health and writing craft growth.

ROW80 Round 4 Goals (in no particular order)

– Read/comment on at least 5 other ROW participants Wednesday and Sunday check-ins each week

– FINISH Faylinn’s Chronicles serial

– START my Paleo-centered health blog and post 2 or more times a week

– Start and complete the first of Margie Lawson’s Writing Lectures with Jody Moller

– Review and comment on the submissions from my critique group (iCrit with Jody Moller, Ozlem Yikici and Lena Corazon) within 1-2 weeks of them posting

– GET A NEW PRINTER (I know this seems silly as a goal but I need a laser color all-in-one and those suckers aren’t cheap)

– Get into a weight lifting and yoga routine

– Read the three Indie/ROW80 novels I have waiting and write reviews on them, add in others as they come

– Posting goals for THIS blog will be the Sun/Wed check in which I will expand to be more than just what I’m writing (or not writing), Sunday will be a review of our previous week with the Margie Lawson packet and Wednesday will be whatever I feel like it, Friday’s if there is nothing else coming, will be book/short story/work reviews from other participants or Indie self-published writers. Then I will fill in where I want/need with Faylinn’s Chronicles, Flash Fiction or other things that come up.

Even though there is a boat load of goals here, do you notice anything? Perhaps lack of WIP goals? Yeah, this hand thing and I are going to focus this round on finishing up my current serial and critiquing other’s work and learning how to better my own.

Now to go check in with the other ROWer’s that are already jumping to the challenge.

About C.M. Cipriani

Crystal is a thirty-something mom of five. Super overachiever, bookworm, fabric hoarder, homeschool teacher, wife, gardener, and writer all while trying hard not to be a short-order cook.

11 responses »

  1. Hooray for you. Though you did make me realise that I forgot to add in my ‘reading goal’. Oops. Anyway. Goodluck with them all. Looking forward to starting to sift my way through first lecture notes tomorrow 🙂

  2. I’m so sorry you’re having so much trouble with your nerves! I can’t imagine trying to write at all with two numb fingers. I think you’ve done a great job substituting goals you can actually work on. So even with the inability to write very much, you’ve managed to set productive goals. Go you!

  3. Great goals, Crystal. Smart to give yourself time to heal, many people try to press through times like this and end up being forced to ease down. Kudo’s for taking the rational step.

    All the best for this round, still plenty to keep you busy that will help in the long run 🙂

  4. Sorry to hear about the numb fingers. I’m sure that is no fun 😦 I agree with Gene that you’ve done a good job finding goals that will keep you moving forward without taking away your time to heal. No apologies for the printer goal–there is more involved in writing than words on screen!

    Looking forward to doing this round with you!

  5. Definitely taking care of your health is first and foremost. I think your goals are great to keep you moving forward while healing. Good luck with them and I look forward to getting to know you during round 4 🙂

  6. You could have always made one of your goals to be learning to type with your nose. ; ) That’s awful about the fingers, though; I can’t even imagine it! So you’ve got a really nice boatload of goals ready to set sail right now, if you ask me. I’d also be really interested in reading a Paleo-centered health blog, too, so I look forward to hearing about progress on that along with all the others! Good luck! It’s going to be a great Round.

  7. Crystal, I’m sending good vibes your way so that you heal quickly! I’m glad to see you back, though, and I’m looking forward to embarking on critique work with you and the other gals. Hope you have a lovely week!

  8. Pingback: Those Cozy Comfort Zone Cabins « The Outlandish Avocado

Leave a Reply

