Wednesday ROW80 Update

Standard

Another short(ish) and sweet update. I’m spending more time writing actual stories so that’s good!

Monday I just edited the piece that went out for flash fiction for Dice Games and then Tuesday’s scheduled FF for Writer’s Campaign challenge.

Tuesday I wrote 900+ on a flash fiction piece for Dice Games flash fiction that’s scheduled for next Monday.

I wrote Sunday as well which gives me 2 days so far in my 4 day a week 750 word count goal. I also commented on more than 5 ROW80 peeps posts, meeting that goal.

I’ve joined the Writer’s Campaign. I’m hoping to be able to meet each of the challenges as well as visit at least 10 other members sites each week and post a comment. I’m not sure what the challenges will entail, if each week will be a flash fiction piece, but I’m going to try and add this to my regular writing.

I’m working hard not to pile to much onto my plate. If it starts getting to be too much I’ll probably drop out but I’m going to try. I think it’s important to support other writers (which is what this campaign stuff is about) and make new friends in the process.

 

I’ve printed out the first two lecture sections on Margie Lawson’s first lecture and put them in a binder. It’s a lot of printing and I’ve noticed the pages aren’t numbered. My printer prints them backwards too so I have to coilate each while it’s printing so I’m only able to print one at a time just because I’m scared they’ll get all mixed up. I’m still hoping that maybe October 1st I’ll have at least one other person to go through these with. Just reading a section, and discussing what we got out of it briefly or if we had ideas/thoughts etc on parts to be able to hash them out with someone that has them freshly read. Either way, I’m waiting until October to start with them.

I also have some books to read on the craft that I’ll try and get through at least one this month. There is a lot going on in my personal life, the newest is that we had decided to adopt out our dog we’ve had for about 18 months and found a great home for her where she’ll be with other dogs too because we’re moving across the country early next year and she is a very, very poor traveler (as in, she can’t go for a 15 min ride without severe vomiting). We had thought we’d have more time to get used to the idea but they want to pick her up this week. I’m sad about it but I think it’ll be best. Now to tell the kids…

 

10 responses »

  1. Yeah, Crystal, I didn’t join the platform builder campaign for precisely that reason — too much on my plate. 😐 There are plenty of times when I feel like I can’t keep up as is! It’s probably a good thing to do though for creating community. Maybe I can join in the next round.

    Keep up the good work on the word counts and have a great rest of the week!

    • I signed up for the smallest group, there are 19 others than myself. If anything I’m going to focus on those 19. I think that might help me not be so overwhelmed.

  2. Heya Crystal, you are very wise and no doubt, I too will be following in your footsteps -where the campaign is concerned; but I plan to do my best with it and see what I can achieve. 🙂

    You are making good progress on your goals -so that’s excellent. I’m sorry to hear about your dog, it must be extremely sad -like a member of the family going away. I hope all gets sorted soon, a calm will come out through the storm -remember that 😉

  3. So sorry to hear about your dog. That’s never fun. I still remember how I felt when we had to give our pup away…and that was 28 years ago. Sigh!

    Glad to hear you’re doing well with your goals and encouraging others…such a great thing about this challenge and the online writers community in general.

    Have a super week…

    • This is our year for it I supposed. At the begining of the year we had to rehome our goats. Then the ducks, geese and rabbits were rehomed, we have 2 cats going to a friend and the dog, then we have to find homes for 4 chickens before we move in February. We’re going from National Guard to Active Duty to live on a base somewhere to help with my son’s medical bills and such. There’s really not another way right now unfortunately.

  4. I looked into the campaign, but just didn’t think I could find the time. It’s so hard having a full time job and still write like I want to. But it sounds like you’re really taking off on all the different writing related activities going on. Good luck with all of them!

  5. Sounds like you are staying very busy. Lots happening. Moves are never easy. Sorry about your dog. That is hard. But keep up the good work. It is very encouraging.

  6. Wow, you’ve gotten both Dice Games entries done already? I fell behind and haven’t started the 1st yet — something about 1000 words feels so much more challenging than the 100 or 200 word flash fic that I’m used to.

    I’ve almost gotten all of my campaign folks added to my google reader, which makes it slightly less overwhelming to follow them all (yes, I was a smarty pants and added myself to 4 groups. Dunno what I was thinking). The good thing is that the campaign will only have 2 more challenges — I don’t think I could handle weekly flash fics in addition to Dice Games.

    I’d definitely like to check out Margie Lawson’s lecture packets with you. I think that could be a nice crit group project.

    Have a good rest of the week!

Leave a Reply

